Breaking News

World Cup: MS Dhoni can't wear 'Balidaan' insignia on gloves, says ICC


MUMBAI: Cricket’s international governing body (ICC) put a lid at the raging controversy over the brand on MS Dhoni’s gloves at the World Cup by means of pronouncing regulations do not permit the India wicketkeeper to game such insignia.

ALSO READ: Sports fraternity supports Dhoni


“ICC has answered to the BCCI to substantiate the brand displayed by means of MS Dhoni within the earlier match is not authorised to be worn on his wicketkeeping gloves at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019.

“The regulations for ICC occasions do not permit somebody message or emblem to be displayed on any pieces of clothes or equipment. In addition to this, the brand also breaches the regulations in relation to what is authorized on wicketkeeper gloves,” ICC mentioned in a unencumber despatched to the media late on Friday.



Earlier within the day, Dhoni had conveyed to the BCCI that are supposed to the insignia of the regimental dagger on his wicketkeeping gloves be perceived as breach of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) rule ebook, he would “happily” take them off within the suits to practice.

The ICC had earlier “requested” the BCCI to seem into the subject after television cameras captured the insignia on Dhoni’s gloves within the match towards South Africa on Wednesday. The governing body’s underlined rule at the subject states that gamers cannot put on any emblem or a written word on their accessories that carries a private message.

While Dhoni without a doubt merits to put on the ‘Balidaan’ emblem with satisfaction, making an allowance for he went via a rigorous training with the elite para regiment four years in the past to earn it, the wicketkeeper-batsman cannot put on it in a event such because the World Cup.



Soon after the debate broke, Dhoni remained in touch with officials at the BCCI who alerted him about what the foundations say. In line with it, Dhoni instructed the board that he “does not need any further tension” at the subject in the middle of such crucial event and will therefore practice the written word.

If not for the private message that the ‘Balidaan’ emblem carries, the BCCI has found no other violation on Dhoni’s phase because the insignia – that means ‘sacrifice’ – is neither business, non secular or army in nature.

ICC WORLD CUP 2019: Full Schedule


However, the ICC thinks otherwise.


Sources within the Indian workforce mentioned they stand at the back of Dhoni’s determination to put on the brand making an allowance for how carefully they’ve seen their former captain concerned with the elite para regiment after he was conferred the title of lieutenant colonel. However, the same workforce individuals added that ‘ Mahi bhai will be the first to understand and not put on it, must it not be underneath the foundations of the event”.


In an interview to a news agency on Friday, BCCI’s court-appointed administrator Vinod Rai mentioned that “BCCI stands at the back of Dhoni within the subject” and added that the insignia was neither non secular nor business in nature.


“It is not the paramilitary regimental dagger that is embossed in his gloves. So, Dhoni is not in breach of ICC regulations,” Rai was quoted as pronouncing. However, the BCCI officials left the executive of CoA misinformed about all rules that surround this topic.


No comments