Breaking News

Govt 'compulsorily retires' 12 senior tax officers

NEW DELHI: Within 10 days of the Modi executive profitable a 2d time period, the finance ministry took a significant step to wash up the income tax department and "compulsorily retired" a dozen high-ranking officials facing charges ranging from corruption and disproportionate belongings to non-performance.

Sources said the finance ministry has invoked Rule 56J of the "fundamental rules" against the officials, mentioning "public interest". The action covers officials of the rank of commissioners, additional commissioners and assistant commissioners and it is understood that extra such decisions are in the works.

"This the first step to send a message that unacceptable behaviour will not be tolerated. There are more officials with dubious records who have been under observation and they will face action too," said assets.

This is the biggest sacking in a single cross initiated through the federal government and considering senior officials. Three years ago, three senior tax officials got marching orders the use of provisions of compulsory retirement.

Months after taking price in 2014, PM Narendra Modi had advised ministries that they must cross ahead with culling employees who were not performing their tasks satisfactorily. Since then, various departments, led through revenue, have initiated action against officials.

No pension advantages for the ‘retired’ tax officials

This time, the list contains 1985-batch income tax joint commissioner Ashok Aggarwal, who had labored with the Enforcement Directorate earlier, and S Ok Srivastava, who was once posted as a commissioner in Noida. Swetabh Suman, who was once convicted in a corruption case and was once under suspension, may be on the list.

The notifications have been issued after formal approval was once received to act against them on achieving the age of 50. The officials will likely be given pay and allowances for 3 months. These officials may not be entitled to pension advantages.

The list additionally included Homi Rajvansh, who is recently posted as commissioner in Tamil Nadu, B B Rajendra Prasad (commissioner in Gujarat), Alok Kumar Mitra (commissioner, Kochi), Ajay Kumar Singh (commissioner, Kolkata), B Arulappa (commissioner, Kochi), Vivek Batra (additional commissioner, TN), A Ravindar (additional commissioner, Bhubaneswar), Chander Sain Bharti (additional commissioner, Allahabad) and Ram Kumar Bhargava (assistant commissioner, Lucknow).

Some of the officials had been all in favour of lengthy litigation with the tax department.

No comments