Breaking News

Clinical CSK beat DC by six wickets to enter 8th IPL final

VISAKHAPATNAM: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings produced a scientific efficiency to overcome Delhi Capitals by way of six wickets and enter their eighth final of the Indian Premier League on Friday.

CSK dished out a disciplined bowling and fielding effort to first prohibit DC to 147 for nine and then chased down the objective with ease, achieving 151 for four in 19 overs.

IPL Schedule | Scorecard

Dwayne Bravo (2/19), Ravindra Jadeja (2/23), Deepak Chahar (2/28) and Harbhajan Singh (2/31) shared eight wickets between them to keep DC in test after opting to bowl.

CSK will play Mumbai Indians in the final of the IPL 2019 in Hyderabad on Sunday. The two groups have met each different 3 times in summit clashes of the match previous with MI completing at the profitable side twice while the Chennai outfit came out triumphant once.

While CSK won the overall struggle in 2010, MI completed at the victorious side in 2013 and 2015.

Chasing the modest overall, Faf du Plessis (50 off 39 balls; 7x4s, 1x6s) and Shane Watson (50 off 32; 3x4s, 4x6s) were given CSK off to a flier, sewing 81 runs in 10.2 overs.

The duo began cautiously sooner than opening up not to permit any DC bowler to relax.

Du Plessis used to be the aggressor some of the duo, scoring 50 off 39 balls with the help of seven barriers and one six while Watson performed the second fiddle to begin with.

But simply after notching up his 12th IPL fifty, du Plessis departed while going for a large shot over deep square-leg off Trent Boult (1/20), only to be holed out by way of Keemo Paul.

After du Plessis' dismissal, Watson took the centrestage and struck Paul for one four and three sixes to pile up 25 runs off the 12th over and in addition registered his half-century off 31 balls in the process.

Watson looked in a rush to complete off the chase and that eventually ended in his downfall, stuck by way of Boult off Amit Mishra (1/21) in the second ball of the following over.

Suresh Raina (11) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (nine) were given out cost effectively but Ambati Rayudu (20 now not out) remained on the crease to verify a comfortable win for the three-time champions.

Earlier despatched into bat, DC made a shaky get started with Prithvi Shaw (5) and Shikhar Dhawan (18 off 14) adding 21 runs in 2.three overs sooner than the former used to be stuck plumb in front of the wicket by way of Chahar.

Shaw's dismissal opened the floodgates as DC lost three wickets in fast time to slump to 75 for four in 11.three overs.

Dhawan used to be the following to go away, stuck by way of Dhoni off Harbhajan, and then Colin Munro (27) used to be holed at deep square-leg by way of Bravo off Jadeja because the South African went for a slog sweep.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer (13 of 18) tried to anchor the innings but he too fell while going for a large shot, stuck by way of Raina off Imran Tahir (1/28) in the 12th over.

To make issues worse for DC, new man in Axar Patel departed in the next over, hitting a short supply of Bravo immediately to Tahir at 3rd man.

Rishabh Pant (38 off 25) and Sherfane Rutherford (10) shared 22 runs for the 6th wicket but CSK didn't permit the Delhi outfit to get any momentum, picking up wickets at common durations to rattle their innings.

Rutherford become Harbhajan's second victim, adopted by way of Paul who used to be cleaned up by way of Bravo's best yorker in the 18th over.

The onus used to be on hard-hitting Pant to take DC to a difficult overall but he too didn't cope up with the pressure, stuck by way of Bravo at long-on off Chahar.

Towards the end, Mishra (6 now not out) and Ishant Sharma (10 now not out off three balls) used their lengthy handles to nice impact and struck some lusty blows to take the Delhi side close to the 150-run mark.

No comments