Breaking News

AIFF announces Intercontinental Cup opponents

NEW DELHI: The All India Football Federation (AIFF) on Monday stated India, North Korea, Syria and Tajikistan will compete in the second Intercontinental Cup, however the announcement got here hours after the central Asian nation's FA tweeted about the same.

"All India Football Federation confirms the participation of Syria, DPR Korea, and Tajikistan as the participating teams of the second edition of the Hero Intercontinental Cup from July 7-17, 2019," the AIFF stated in a unlock.

However, many hours prior to the AIFF announcement, Tajikistan Football tweeted, "Tajik national team to play in opposition to Syria, North Korea and India on the Intercontinental Cup 2019.

"The competitors of the national team of Tajikistan were known on the global tournament 'Intercontinental Cup 2019', which will probably be held from 7 to 18 July in India."

Tajikistan Football's tweet induced the AIFF to make the tournament details public.

The Blue Tigers come into the contest as protecting champions, having won the inaugural edition in June last 12 months after defeating Kenya in the ultimate, courtesy a brace from Sunil Chhetri.

New Zealand, and Chinese Taipei were the other two teams in the fray.

AIFF general secretary Kushal Das mentioned that the approaching Intercontinental Cup will probably be an "acid check" for the Blue Tigers ahead of the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers, which kick off in September.

"The AIFF and their companions FSDL have finalised an annual calendar for the boys's national team. In June, the national team is scheduled to take part in the King's Cup in Thailand the place we play CuraƧao in our first fit, after which both Vietnam or Thailand.

"These matches will hold us in good stead for the 2022 World Cup Qualifiers starting in September 2019," he mentioned.

"I need to thank the respective football federations of Syria, Tajikistan, and DPR Korea for agreeing to come over for the four-nation event," Das added.

All the four teams will probably be playing every different in a spherical robin phase, with the top two qualifying for the overall.

The venue for the tournament will probably be determined in a while.

No comments