Breaking News

35 of 43 NE LS nominees in Phase I are crorepatis

Guwahati: Former Congress chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Nabam Tuki, who's contesting in Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency towards BJP’s Kiren Rijiju and the Sagli assembly constituency, is in the Rs 100 crore membership. Another Congress candidate from the region, Anil Borgohain (Lakhimpur in Assam) is the 9th absolute best earning candidate amongst those in the first section election to be held in 20 states.
Also in the 9th place is Kabrabam Dhirendra Singha, an Independent candidate in Tripura West constituency, but in the listing of poorest applicants. He has declared assets of Rs 6,587.

According to an research of assets of the 1,266 applicants in the fray in first section of polls in 91 constituencies through Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), there are 401 crorepati applicants. In the 13 seats in northeast which will cross to polls in first section, there are 43 applicants and 35 of them are crorepati applicants.

Tuki, who leads the crorepatis in the region may be at the bottom of the listing of 19 applicants, whose declared assets are Rs 100 cr and above. Congress candidate in Telangana’s Chevella constituency, Konda Vishweshwar Reddy with declared assets of Rs 895 crore is the richest some of the 401 crorepati applicants in first section.

Borgohain, a businessman, has declared an annual wage of Rs three.75 crore in his ITR for 2018-19. Jayadev Galla of Telegu Desam Party who's contesting from Guntur seat in Andhra Pradesh with a declared wage from business, funding and parliament of Rs 40.16 crore in ITR for 2018-19 is the richest amongst those with high income.

In Arunachal Pradesh, 10 of the 12 applicants for the two seats and 7 of the 9 applicants for a similar selection of seats in Meghalaya are crorepati applicants.

Assam’s five constituencies have 16 crorepatis some of the 41 in fray whilst half of the 8 applicants in Manipur’s one seat are crorepatis. Mizoram has six applicants for the lone seat in the state of which four are crorepatis. Tripura West constituency has the least—only one crorepati, Sankar Prasad Dutta of CPM, some of the 13 in fray.

Party-wise, some of the northeastern regional parties, NPP has five crorepatis applicants, MNF, People’s Party of Arunachal, NPF and North East India Development Party have one crorepati applicants every whilst the region’s greatest and maximum a success regional party, Asom Gana Parishad has none.

The best crorepati candidate in Assam is former Ulfa chief and previous MLA, Jiten Gogoi who has declared assets of Rs 9.03 crore. He is contesting from Kalaiabor constituency as an unbiased.

Closely behind him is former Assam further chief secretary MGVK Bhanu, who has stepped into a new box as Congress candidate from Tezpur. He has declared assets worth Rs eight.28 crore. Congress outdated warfare horse and previous union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar in Dibrugarh is subsequent with Rs 5.74 crore, Congressman Anil Borgohain is subsequent Rs 5.11 crore, Dilip Moran of Assam Dristi Party at Lakhimpur is subsequent with Rs 2.96 crore. Congress candidate in Jorhat Sushanta Borgohain follows with Rs 2.15 crore, then NPP’s Kamala Raj Konwar has Rs 1.88 crore.

BJP’s two applicants, Pallab Lochan Das (Tezpur) and Pradan Baruah (Lakhimpur) have Rs 1.44 crore and Rs 1.43 crore respectively whilst Tarun Gogoi’s son and sitting MP from Kaliabor, Gaurav has Rs 1.37 crore, all of it as movable assets. BJP’s Jorhat candidate Topon Kumar Gogoi may be in the crorepati bracket with asests worth Rs 1.25 crore. BJP candidate and sitting MP from Dibrugarh, Rameswar Teli is the only non-crorepati candidate of the party.

No comments