Breaking News

Madurai: Sahitya Akademi winner gets CPM ticket

CHENNAI: After DMK president M Ok Stalin announced on Friday the constituencies allocated to quite a lot of parties in the entrance, the CPM, the CPI and the IUML launched the names of their candidates. While the CPM and CPI are contesting in two seats each and every, the IUML is contesting in a single seat.

Tamil writer Su Venkatesan Venkatesan, whose novel ‘Kaaval Kottam’ in regards to the 600-year historical past of Madurai between 1310 and 1920 gained the Sahitya Akademi award in 2011, is the CPM candidate for Madurai constituency. Former Lok Sabha MP P R Natarajan is the CPM candidate for Coimbatore.

At the DMK headquarters, IUML chief Khader Mohideen offered Nawaz Kani as a candidate for Ramanathapuram. “If elected MP, I will be able to paintings to solve the fishermen issue and drinking water downside and offering employment to formative years in the constituency,” said Kani.

CPM state secretary Ok Balakrishnan offered the candidates on the birthday celebration headquarters.

“This is the first time I'm contesting in the Lok Sabha elections. In the 2016 meeting elections, I was the birthday celebration’s candidate in Tiruparankundram meeting constituency,” he said. Venkatesan is an impressive speaker. Natarajan was once Coimbatore MP between 2009 and 2014. “We are preventing this election towards money power. Traders and small businessmen were suffering in the constituency after demonetisation and implementation of GST,” said Natarajan, expected to be pitted towards a BJP candidate.

In the evening, CPI announced Ok Subbarayan and M Selvaraj as candidates for Tirupur and Nagapattinam. Subbarayan is a former MP from Coimbatore.

The VCK, which is contesting from two seats and the MDMK, contesting from one seat, will announce their candidates quickly.

No comments