Breaking News

AP polls: Why TDP chose Mangalagiri for Lokesh?

VIJAYAWADA: It is the bottom victory margin of YSRC in Mangalagiri, which has made chief minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu come to a decision on fielding his son and political heir Nara Lokesh.

TDP misplaced to YSRC by 12 votes in 2014. Naidu, who scouted for probably the most ‘most secure’ constituencies to field Lokesh, who's making his electoral debut, in the end picked Mangalagiri. Incidentally, Mangalagiri isn't a TDP bastion. TDP has received simplest two times from Mangalagiri.

But TDP improved its efficiency in 2014 and hopes to better it now. With several IT corporations and AIIMS coming up in Mangalagiri, quite a lot of jobs were generated. The TDP management hopes to win the seat hands down thanks to the beef up it expects from the formative years and scholars. Lokesh, by the way, is the IT minister. A mega IT park used to be lately inaugurated within the the town. Several instructional establishments of fame have also sprung up within the segment within the ultimate five years.

Lokesh on Thursday went around the segment for a first- hand feel of electorate’ pulse.

While the TDP banks on Mangalagiri thanks to the very skinny margin of victory in 2014, a relook on the EC information at the ultimate polls unearths some fascinating information.

While YSRC president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy secured the best majority--74,256 votes--in Pulivendula in Kadapa district, Alla Ramakrishan Reddy scraped via with a 12-vote lead in Mangalagiri.

Chief minister Chandrababu Naidu received by 47,121 votes in Kuppam. His two deputies Okay E Krishna Murthy received Pattikonda (margin of 16,564) and N Chinarajappa secured Peddapuram (margin of 10,663 votes).

Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao, who used to be shifted from Narasaraopet to Sathenapalli, received by a margin of 924 votes and his deputy Mandali Buddha Prasad received Avanigadda seat by a margin of five,958 votes.

Among other notable winners, M Mani Gandhi received Kodumuru in Kurnool district by 52,384 votes, the second biggest margin. TDP’s V Ramakrishna Babu secured Visakhapatnam North by 48,300 votes.

Five of the YSRC MLAs received by very skinny margins-- Mangalagiri by 12 votes, Kambala Jogulu from Rajam (512 votes), Chirala Jaggireddi (714 votes), R Okay Roja from Nagari (858 votes) and M Sunil Kumar from Puthalapattu in Chittoor (902 votes).

No comments