Breaking News

SP not in PM’s race, says Akhilesh Yadav

LUCKNOW: Withdrawing from the race for prime minister’s post, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav announced on Monday that his birthday party may not be seeking the top post.
Responding to a query on the potential of West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee being a claimant to the PM’s post after 2019 polls, Yadav mentioned the country desires a brand new PM and clarified that SP was once no longer within the race.

“Desh naya pradhan mantri chahta hai. Hum Samajwadi log race mein nahi hain lekin desh ko naya pradhan mantri mile iske liye kaam kar rahe hain (The country desires a brand new PM. We Samajwadis don't seem to be within the race, but we're operating to pave the best way for a metamorphosis of PM), he mentioned. Earlier, whilst saying the ancient alliance with BSP within the January 12 press conference together with Mayawati, Yadav had ducked the query on opposition PM candidate. “You know who I will toughen,” he had mentioned when NewsTread had asked if he would toughen Mayawati for the PM’s post.

In another announcement, he mentioned SP will give one more seat to Rashtriya Lok Dal from his quota of 38 seats within the alliance.

“Ye gathbandhan BSP se toh hai, wahin aapki aur jankari hogi ki Congress birthday party bhi shamil hai, RLD ko bhi teenager seat dee gayee hain, woh bhi shamil hain. Aur Nishad birthday party ko bhi, kyunki pehle hum chunaav un ke sath lade hain (Our alliance is with BSP, but you must be knowing that Congress may be part of it. RLD now has been given 3 seats and NISHAD birthday party may be with us as previous we contested elections together),” Yadav mentioned.

SP-BSP had left two seats for Congress and two others for “different constituents” of the alliance whilst splitting the remaining 76 equally between themselves. Yadav had later announced that RLD will contest two seats. On Monday, he announced that his birthday party has spared 3 seats for Ajit Singh led outfit which enjoys considerable clout around the jat belt in west UP. Though it has no longer been announced which seats had been given to RLD, assets mentioned after a consensus on Muzaffarnagar and Baghpat, SP has agreed to spare Mathura seat additionally.

No comments