Breaking News

Lok Sabha polls: Ambedkar names 6 BVA candidates

NAGPUR: With talks between the Congress-NCP and Prakash Ambedkar-led Bahujan Vanchit Aghadi (BVA) now not making any headway after an preliminary spherical, the latter has gone ahead pronouncing his personal candidates for six Lok Sabha seats in the state.

For the time being, Ambedkar has declared he would contest from his conventional constituency — Akola. Party resources said there is a demand from supporters that he must input the poll fray from Nagpur, sending a robust message of his combat in opposition to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

Last month, Congress leaders led by state president Ashok Chavan and NCP’s veteran Chhagan Bhujbal had gone to fulfill Ambedkar at his Mumbai residence ‘Rajgruh.’ But after that there used to be hardly ever any building apparently because Ambedkar had stuck to his demand of 12 seats to contest from the state and in addition a firm plan in writing on how the Congress-NCP would demolish the parallel administration arrange by the RSS.

With no beneficial response, Ambedkar then went ahead with the announcement of candidates for the approaching polls. Besides his personal candidature from Akola, Ambedkar has named Gunwant Deopare from Amravati, sitting MLA Baliram Siraskar from Buldhana, Vanjara leader Pravin Pawar from Yavatmal-Washim constituency, Dhangar leader Yashpal Bhinge from Nanded and Vijay More from Madha seat. More may be from Dhangar neighborhood and as a part of the strategy, the BVA has gone for social engineering by deciding on poll aspirants from different backward communities and now not just Dalits.

The public rally that Ambedkar held at Kasturchand Park in December used to be a huge draw and even at the moment his supporters had shouted slogans suggesting that he must contest from Nagpur sending a robust sign that he used to be in a position to take at the RSS-BJP in its heartland. “We would favor he contests from both Akola and Nagpur as neatly so as to consolidate citizens aligned to his ideology,” said Sagar Dabrase, the BVA pointsman right here.

Meanwhile, the NCP will probably be retaining a display of power in Amravati on Wednesday with stalwarts led by its state unit chief Jayant Patil, Chhagan Bhujbal and Anil Deshmukh traveling the district. They would deal with two public rallies, one at Paratwada at midday and any other at Nehru ground in Amravati at 5pm. NCP is to contest from Amravati Lok Sabha seat as a part of the seat-sharing pact with the Congress, but the birthday celebration is but to finalize its candidate.

No comments