Breaking News

Cong begins process to shortlist candidates

Bhubaneswar: The Congress on Wednesday started the exercise of shortlisting applicants for the upcoming assembly and Lok Sabha elections within the state. All India Congress Committees (AICC) screening committee chairman for Odisha, V D Satheesan and member Naushad Solanki, who reached the state on a three-day seek advice from on Wednesday, discussed with social gathering leaders and aspirants at Bhubaneswar and Berhampur, respectively.
Satheesan and Naushad would scrutinise the checklist of possible applicants for 11 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats and 77 assembly constituencies coming below the 11 parliamentary seats all over their stay.

The screening committee will again seek advice from in the following couple of days to finalise applicants for the remaining 10 Lok Sabha seats and 70 assembly constituencies. On day one, Satheesan discussed with several aspirants of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack Lok Sabha seats. On Thursday and Friday, Satheesan is scheduled to screen the aspirants of Puri, Jagatsinghur, Kendrapada and Dhenkanal parliamentary seats.

“We will give precedence to these, who have been working on the grassroots and are hooked up to other people. Winnability will be the key standard for selection of applicants. Women and youths will likely be given choice,” Satheesan mentioned, including “The central election committee will take the general resolution on whether or now not some leaders, who misplaced elections in 2009 and 2014, will likely be regarded as for tickets.” Sources mentioned it is going to be a testing time for the social gathering to placate dissidents as every seat has 5 aspirants for tickets.

Congress, which had in June closing 12 months announced to finalise tickets for no less than 50 assembly seats via August-end, has already overlooked several time limits and is hoping to complete the selection of applicants for all 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly constituencies via the month-end. After assuming rate of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee in April closing 12 months, president Niranjan Patnaik on June 24 had told the media that early selection of names of applicants would offer them adequate time to improve their base in respective constituencies.

Sources mentioned the new go out of five key leaders, including three sitting MLAs Naba Kishore Das (Jharsuguda), Jogesh Singh (Sundargarh) and Krishna Sagaria (Koraput) in last few weeks has not on time the selection of applicants.

While Naba Kishore had surrender the social gathering, Singh and Sagaria were sacked for alleged anti-party activities. Naba Kishore and Singh joined BJD whereas Sagaria joined Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Talks are doing the rounds that the social gathering is suffering to get appropriate replacements in Jharsuguda, Sundargarh and Koraput. Another explanation why for prolong in finalisation of applicants is reportedly attributed to the Congress plan of becoming a member of fingers with the Left parties and subsequent seat-sharing adjustment.

No comments